Goodbye 2016

So here we are at the cusp of a new year. A time to reflect on the year that has passed and to look forward to the year ahead. It is no exaggeration to say that 2016 has been an eventful year, with far too many celebrity deaths and some unexpected political upheavals.

In many ways, the year has been dominated by death. Not only have we lost a great many well-known faces from every walk of life, but also the many thousands who have lost their lives through acts of war or terrorism (or are they one in the same?). We have also seen a near fatal blow to liberal values with the EU referendum and US Presidential elections. Both results were seen as a rejection of the “establishment” view and a victory for public opinion, but how true that is remains to be seen.

On a personal level 2016 has been a very good year for me and my family. It is a year in which we could put ourselves first and do the things we wanted to do. That is not to say things are perfect. They are not. But we are happier and more secure than we have been for some time, and the future is looking good.

In August I fulfilled a lifelong ambition to visit Cornwall. I have wanted to visit this beautiful county for as long as I can remember, and I wasn’t disappointed. The breath-taking splendour of the Minack Theatre, the historical significance of Tintagel and the unparalleled beauty of the land itself are memories I will cherish for a lifetime. I can’t wait to get an opportunity to return as there is so much more I want to see and do.

This summer I also decided to take up photography again, but seriuously this time. I have invested time and money in this new venture and am determined to get to grips with the f-values and shutter speeds this time around. One thing I have discovered already is that I prefer taking photographs of the world around me than of people. I am formulating plans for a couple of projects for the new year which should help me become more confident and hopefully snap some interesting images.

At this point last year I told myself that I was going to do more writing in 2016. Well, that never happened! I did get everything in place, but for several reasons I just never got around to putting pen to paper as I had hoped to do. I still have plans which may or may not see the light of day this year instead. Actually, this ramble is probably the longest single piece of work I have managed to do all year!

We are seeing out the old year with the expectation of further changes. My father-in-law may be moving permanently into a home and our daughter will (hopefully) have her own house by early January which leaves my wife and I very much on our own and gives us the opportunity to do the things we want to do.

 

So, for anyone taking the trouble to read this, I wish everyone a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

