Am I turning into Victor Meldrew?

one_foot_in_the_grave_victorIt’s a lovely Sunday afternoon, with the summer seemingly having a last fling. But around us there are reminders that the winter is not far off. The geese are flying overhead and yesterday, I popped into our local branch of The Range and walked straight into their Christmas decoration display!

I must admit I felt a Victor Meldrew moment coming on (as in One Foot In The Grave). I am no Scrooge, but to be thinking about Christmas Decorations in the first week of October is just so wrong. And I couldn’t believe my eyes when my boss brought a packet of Mince Pies into work on Friday. I mean, I enjoy Christmas as much as the next person, but there is a time and place and as far as I am concerned, it is definitely the wrong side of November for this kind of thing.

I remember being in London in August several years ago. We went to Harrods and found part of the store closed off as they set up their Christmas department. I really couldn’t believe my eyes and it still shocks me to think about it.

Does this make me a miserable SOB? No, I don’t think so; I just don’t like to see events dragged out way beyond their time. We all know that by Boxing Day the shops will be taking down their Christmas displays and stocking up for Valentines and Easter. In fact, by Christmas the Cadbury’s Cream Eggs will be out.

Even the seasons themselves aren’t spared. Try buying summer clothes for a late get-away after the school’s have broken up! By August it’s all “Back to School” and winter woollies. In fact, you can see the Back to School displays before the holidays have started. I even heard a promotion for food to put in children’s lunchbox in early August. Who the hell is interested in school lunch boxes in August? What is all that about.

Well, I for one won’t be falling for the retail hype. Christmas will happen in it’s own time and I will be ready for it. Sort of.

Leave a Reply

